Eight Magoffin students selected for Rural Development Center youth programs – Salyersville Independent

The Rural Development Center has selected eight students from Magoffin County to participate in its summer leadership programs.

Rogers Scholars

This summer, two sophomores from Magoffin County will join high school students from across southern and eastern Kentucky for the 25th annual Rogers Scholars Youth Leadership Program. Bella Dunn is the daughter of Jerry and Casey Dunn of Salyersville. Coltin Vallandingham is the grandson of Bonnie Dyer, of Salyersville.

Rogers Scholars, the Center’s flagship youth program, was created thanks to US Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers’ (KY-05) vision that “no young person should have to leave their homes to find their future. “.

Intensive, week-long summer program provides valuable leadership skills and exclusive college scholarship opportunities to high school students in 45 Kentucky counties to develop their skills as the next generation of business and entrepreneurial leaders of the region.

“The Centre’s youth programs are unique opportunities for our young leaders to explore what awaits them in education and service to their communities,” said Lonnie Lawson, President and CEO of the Center for Rural Development. . “The programs give them the tools they need to thrive in their personal goals and how to make an impact in southern and eastern Kentucky.”

Every graduate of the Rogers Scholars program earns potential access to exclusive scholarship opportunities from some of the top-ranked colleges and universities in the state. To be eligible, students must complete a community service project in their hometown.

The 2022 Rogers Scholars Program will take place June 5-10 on the campus of Morehead State University and July 24-29 on the campus of Lindsey Wilson College. There are no tuition fees to attend the program and accommodation and food are provided free of charge to participants.

Rogers Explorers

Five 8and students from Hearld Whitaker Middle School have been selected for the 17and Rogers Explorers Annual Program – Cathryn Allen, Gavin Ryan Arnett, Gavin Ross Arnett, Erin Rudd and Troy Salyer.

Allen is the daughter of JR and Becky Allen, of Salyersville. Gavin Ryan Arnett is the son of Jeffery and Minerva Arnett, of Salyersville. Gavin Ross Arnett is the son of Scott and Tina Arnett, Rudd is the daughter of Katrina and Steve Rudd, of Royalton. Salyer is the son of Amanda Whitaker and Jerome Salyer, of Salyersville.

Rogers Explorers is open to eighth graders in southern and eastern Kentucky who want to develop skills in leadership, team building, community service, and STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math). ).

Explorers is a three-day, two-night program at a premier college campus in Kentucky where experts will guide them through hands-on assignments. The program is offered free of charge to eligible students in the Central 45 counties main service area.

Rogers Explorers is presented by the Center for Rural Development in partnership with Lindsey Wilson College, Eastern Kentucky University, Morehead State University, Asbury University, University of the Cumberlands and Union College.

Entrepreneurial Leadership Institute

Brayleigh Darnell, a sophomore at Magoffin County High School, has been selected for the Entrepreneurial Leadership Institute. She is the daughter of Bethanie and Bradley Darnell, of Salyersville.

ELI is a week-long summer leadership camp for student entrepreneurs. ELI provides high school students in Southern and Eastern Kentucky with an in-depth look at what it takes to start their own business – from developing ideas to building a model prototype of their business concept.

The Center for Rural Development partners with the Kentucky Highlands Investment Corporation and Eastern Kentucky University to develop the program. During the camp, ELI’s business teams will participate in the Business Concept Challenge competition. Members of the winning team will receive a scholarship from EKU.

For more information about the Center’s youth programs, contact Allison Cross, Community Liaison and Youth Programs Coordinator at the Center, at [email protected] or call 606-677-6000.

Established in 1996 through the vision of U.S. Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers, (KY-05), and other leaders, the Center for Rural Development is a nonprofit organization fueled by a mission to provide a leadership that drives innovative and sustainable economic development solutions and a better way of life in Southern and Eastern Kentucky. In its primary service region of 45 counties, the Center offers innovative programs in leadership, public safety, technology, arts and culture. The Center is committed to constantly expanding its capabilities to provide a range of key services throughout Kentucky and the country.

About Keneth T. Graves

Check Also

Presentation on USDA Rural Development Services Planned in Clarke County | Winchester Star

BERRYVILLE – An upcoming presentation in Clarke County will detail USDA rural development programs and …