Johnson County students graduate from Center for Rural Development youth programs | News

Seven Johnson County students graduated from the Center for Rural Development youth programs this summer.

Rogers Fellows

Kaleb Triplett, representing Paintsville High School, graduated from the Rogers Scholars program at Morehead State University in July. He is the son of John M. Triplett and Stephanie S. Triplett, of Banner.

Rogers Scholars, the Center for Youth’s flagship program, was created out of the vision of US Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05) that “no young person should have to leave home to find their future. “.

The intensive week-long summer program provides valuable leadership skills and opportunities for high school students in 45 counties across Kentucky to develop their skills as the next generation of business leaders and entrepreneurs in the region.

“The Rogers Scholars Program challenges students to consider all the possibilities available to them and aims to set them on the path to success from an early age while helping to create well-rounded individuals who will continue to change.” this region forever, ”said Lonnie Lawson, President and CEO of the Center.

In total, Johnson County had two representatives in the Rogers Scholars program. As reported earlier this summer, the program also took place at Lindsey Wilson College in June, which was attended by Paintsville High School student Chloe Reynolds.

Every graduate of the Rogers Scholars program gets potential access to exclusive scholarship opportunities from some of the state’s top colleges and universities.

The 2022 application period is from November 1, 2021 to January 31, 2022.

Rogers Explorers

Four Johnson County students graduated from the Rogers Explorers program: Ilana Estep, Kiersten Sagraves, Brock Horne and Trent Cox. Rogers Explorers is a youth leadership summer program that takes place on five different college campuses across the Commonwealth.

Estep is the daughter of Steven and Connie Estep, from Staffordsville represented Johnson County Middle School. She attended Union College camp. Upon graduation, college officials announced that students would receive a scholarship offer of $ 2,000 upon graduation from high school.

Sagraves and Cox also represents the Johnson County Middle School. Sagraves is the daughter of Shawnna and Anthony Sagraves of Tutor Key. She completed the Eastern Kentucky University program. Cox is the son of Misty and Jason Goble and Christopher Cox, of Hager Hill. He completed the program at Morehead State University.

Horne, son of Greg and Robin Horne, of Wayland, represented Paintsville Independent. He completed the program at Asbury University.

Rogers Explorers is open to eighth-year students from Southern and Eastern Kentucky who have a keen interest in developing their skills in leadership, team building, community service, and STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics).

Rogers Explorers is a three-day, two-night program at a premier Kentucky college campus, where experts guide them through hands-on assignments. The program is offered free of charge to eligible students in the main service area of ​​the center of 45 counties.

Rogers Explorers is presented by the Center in partnership with Lindsey Wilson College, Eastern Kentucky University, Morehead State University, Asbury University and Union College. The 2022 application period runs from December 1, 2021 to February 28, 2022.

Entrepreneurial Leadership Institute

Two Johnson County students graduated from the Entrepreneurial Leadership Institute in July – Braydon Staniford and Chelsea Reynolds.

Staniford, a student at Johnson Central High School, is the son of Adam and Kimberly O’Bryan and Ronnie and Michelle Staniford, of Paintsville. Reynolds, representing Paintsville High School, is the daughter of Kimberly and CV Reynolds, of Prestonsburg.

ELI is a one-week summer leadership camp for student entrepreneurs. ELI gives high school students in Southern and Eastern Kentucky an in-depth look at what it takes to start their own business – from developing ideas to building a prototype model of their business concept. .

The Center for Rural Development is partnering with the Kentucky Highlands Investment Corporation and Eastern Kentucky University to develop the program. During the camp, ELI’s sales teams took part in the Business Concept Challenge competition. Members of the winning team won a $ 16,000 scholarship from EKU.

The Centre’s youth programs are made possible by 2021 sponsors: TTAI of Somerset, South Kentucky RECC, Conley Bottom Resort, Outdoor Venture, Community Trust Bank of Somerset, First and Farmers Bank of Somerset, Kentucky Utilities, Lincoln Manufacturing, Forcht Bank of Somerset, and Vaughn and Melton of Middlesboro.

For more information on the Centre’s youth programs, contact Allison Cross, the Center’s community liaison and youth programs coordinator, at [email protected], or call (606) 677-6019.

About Keneth T. Graves

Check Also

CSR initiative to achieve holistic rural development in Patiala, Punjab

CSR Initiative to Achieve Holistic Rural Development in Patiala, Punjab – The CSR Journal …