The Chamber of Agriculture will lose one in five members

Between retirement and election defeat, 10 members will leave the House Agriculture Committee at the end of the Congressional session next month, a fifth of its slate. house tenant Nancy Pelosi hailed one of the defeated Democrats, Rep. Tom O’Halleran of Arizona, as a respected leader of the agriculture and energy and commerce committees.

There are 27 Democrats and 24 Republicans on the Agriculture Committee. The composition of the committee was yet to change. Some of the remaining members may request assignments to other groups and replacements must be appointed to fill vacancies.

O’Halleran, co-chair of the Blue Dog Coalition, lost a race for re-election last week, as did Democrats Al Lawson of Florida, Cindy Axne of Iowa and Sean Patrick Maloney of New York State, and Republican Mayra Flores of Texas. Three retired panel members, Democrats Cheri Bustos and Bobby Rush of Illinois and Republican Chris Jacobs, have announced their retirement from Congress. Representative Vicky Hartzler ran unsuccessfully for the Republican nomination in the Missouri Senate. Illinois Rep. Rodney Davis lost to Rep. Mary Miller, also a member of agriculture, in an incumbent-vs-incumbent Republican primary in Illinois.

In a statement, Pelosi said O’Halleran is “a relentless voice for Arizona communities: whether fighting to expand rural broadband, improve water conservation or invest in Arizona farmers”. Eli Crane, a Trump-endorsed businessman, beat O’Halleran, 54-46, in Arizona’s redesigned Second Congressional District.

Two races involving House Agriculture Committee members, California Democrats Jim Costa and Josh Harder, were up in the air on Sunday. Both were in the lead with thousands of ballots to count.

About Keneth T. Graves

Check Also

Agriculture as a Service Market Analysis, Growth Rate, Demand, Size

Market Overview: The global agriculture as a service market size is expected to grow at …